Board & Staff

Sharon Silverman, President

Sharon Silverman has been an active leader with Hebrew Free Loan since joining the Board of Directors in 1999. She has served as the agency’s Secretary and 1st Vice President, and on the Business Loan, Executive, and Development Committees. Sharon has chaired several major Hebrew Free Loan events, and played an instrumental role in transforming the biennial Galas into significant fundraising affairs. She is a dedicated advocate for Hebrew Free Loan and its mission — raising awareness, spreading the word, and inspiring more people to engage with the agency.

Sharon brings a long history of leadership and volunteer activities in the Jewish community, both locally and nationally. She served as President of Congregation Sherith Israel from 1987 – 1989. From 1991 – 2010, she sat on the Union for Reform Judaism’s national Board of Directors, where she held several roles, including Vice Chair. She currently serves as Secretary of Peninsula Temple Sholom, where she has been a Board Member since 2011. Sharon received the Hebrew Free Loan Art Becker Leadership Award in 2013, in recognition of her commitment and community service, and she was honored by Congregation Sha’ar Zahav in 1990 for promoting congregational growth and development.

Born and raised in San Francisco, Sharon lives in San Bruno with her husband Len. They are the proud parents of two daughters, Bonni Silverman and Jill Brier, and love spending time with their grandson, Zachary.

Cindy Rogoway, Executive Director

In May 2014, Cindy Rogoway became the new Executive Director of Hebrew Free Loan, the first woman to assume this role since the agency was founded in 1897.

For the past 27 years, Cindy has worked in fundraising and non-profit management within the San Francisco Jewish community.  She joined Hebrew Free Loan in 2003 when she was hired as the agency’s first Development Director.  In that capacity, she managed both fundraising and marketing activities for the agency, expanding Hebrew Free Loan’s reach into the community so that more people could have the opportunity to become self-sufficient and realize their dreams.

In 2010, she became the Associate Director and assumed responsibility for our loan program. This role brought her in contact with hundreds of loan recipients each year and deepened Cindy’s appreciation for the “profound and lasting impact a micro-loan can make on a person’s life.”

Prior to joining Hebrew Free Loan, Cindy worked for the San Francisco-based Jewish Community Federation for 14 years, where she focused on fundraising, community building, and leadership development.

Cindy graduated from UCLA, where she majored in Communication Studies. While at UCLA, she got her first experience of Jewish communal work by serving as the Business Manager for Ha’Am, the UCLA Jewish newspaper. She also founded and served as the first chairperson of the Jewish Student Union, an umbrella organization for all the Jewish groups on campus, which still operates today. After graduating, Cindy moved to the Bay Area to begin her career.

In addition to her professional involvement in the Jewish community, Cindy has been an active volunteer for political campaigns and several local Jewish organizations, including Congregation Kol Emeth, the South Peninsula Hebrew Day School and the Palo Alto-based Friendship Circle.  She also serves as a Vice-President of the International Association of Jewish Free Loans.

She finds it extremely gratifying to work for organizations that strengthen community and provide support to those in need.

Cindy lives in the Bay Area with her husband, Joe, and their son, Alan.


Sharon Silverman, President
Mark B. Abelson, First Vice President
Steve Zimmerman, Second Vice President
Howard Shwiff, Treasurer
Lisa Spiegel, Assistant Secretary 
John J. Riley, Immediate Past President
Cindy Rogoway, Executive Director


Philip B. Auerbach
Randy Baum
David Blatteis
Rabbi Steven Chester
Sharon Goldstein
Steve Grau
George Krevsky
Raquel Newman
Paul Orbuch
Sabina Polnar
Yariv Robinson
Gregg Rubenstein
Josh Rutberg
Steve Sachs
Jenn Saxe
Boris Senderzon
Howard Steiermann
Debbie Chizever Taback
Shari Tishman
Carol Weitz


Noah Alper
A. Arthur Hirschhorn*
Matook Nissim
Bob Tandler

Past Presidents
Stephen C. Becker
Elton Blum
William Breall, M.D.
Leonard A. Cohn*
Frances D. Green
Milton Greenfield
Arlene Krieger
Stuart R. Pollak
Gary Shapiro

*Of Blessed Memory

Executive Directors Emeriti
Edward L. Cushman
Julius Blackman
Irwin Wiener


Cindy Rogoway, Executive Director – 415.546.9902 ext. 107
Jamie Hyams, Development Director – 415.546.9902 ext. 106
Bonni Lesser, Finance Director – 415.546.9902 ext. 105
Beth Blackman, Loan Officer / Finance Associate – 415.546.9902 ext. 103
Terry Lowe, Loan Officer / Development Associate – 415.546.9902 ext. 108
Dyanna Loeb, Marketing Manager – 415.546.9902 ext. 109
Moshe Arzt, Database Administrator / Client Relationship Manager – 415.546.9902 ext. 102
Marina Levy, Loan Administrator – 415.546.9902 ext. 104